Wow. Just wow.

It was a marvelous Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, truly, where everything went right, everyone loved their gifts, and even though I didn’t finish all my knitted gifts, it’s still all good. There will be plenty of time to finish over the next week, and then…..

Time to play with the new toys! Got some awesome skeins of yummy yarn, plus a squeal-worthy set of Knit Picks double-pointed Harmony needles. AND THE BARBARA WALKER BOOK I HAVE BEEN LUSTING AFTER FOR LIKE FOREVER. (pardon me while I wipe the drool away.) We are traveling somewhere by train very soon, and is it ridiculous that I’m more excited about the uninterrupted train-knitting time than I am about the destination???

I did manage to finish knitting my good friend her very own eggplant, and she went absolutely bonko over it. (Why don’t I have a picture of it? That’s a really good question. Why don’t I? I’ll have to ruminate on that.) I wanted really badly to knit the gift-du-jour, a neckwarmer, but it’s only 3/4 of the way done. I wanted to finish the gifts for my girls, but everytime I needed to knit, they were there in the house, sitting in the same room, prattling on and on about how much they loved Christmas and home and me and everything. I mean, really, how do they expect me to get anything done if they insist on hugging me all the time? Work was no help either, there were always students coming into my classroom and expecting me to put down the knitting and teach them something. Really? Don’t you have priorities, kids?

I’m in awe of all the other bloggers on my rss feed that managed to keep blogging through the days leading up to the gift-giving day, AND show pics of finished objects, AND the wonderful baking they were doing, AND the rest of the brilliant words they write. AND the photos, the photos…… let me ruminate on that some more.

The post’s title? Without getting too much into detail, I’ll just say that the spirit moved me to open up a bit to someone who’s been extremely distant and difficult and I think a connection has been made. I need to remember that feeling and keep it going and not retreat into the usual “oh for pete’s sake grow up already and fix it wouldja?” mode that I find myself in sometimes when dealing with this person. After all, I really am blessed and it would only be human decency to keep that blessed feeling moving onto someone else who might not be so easy to love.

And with that, off to bite the head off a gingerbread man. Human decency only goes so far when carbs are on the table!

