Every year, my family goes to the Jersey Shore for some major relaxation. We do virtually nothing. We are not the kind of people who have to spend every minute doing “something” so we can say we did it. We enjoy pretty much just hanging, being, and feeling.

We always include a stop in Cape May.

Beautiful Cape May

Beautiful Cape May

It has the most adorable pedestrian mall, and great places to eat and shop. We actually got free ice cream, too, but I thought I’d withhold that shot for my own protection. Maggie looked good, though. Maggie also has a mascot sheep that she got when she was in England last year, and named it “Iown” after the very handsome Welsh actor, Ioan Gruffudd. (I don’t know why she spells it differently.) She takes great delight in posing Ioan/Iown wherever she goes.

My girls taking a picture of their mascot sheep, Iown

My girls taking a picture of their mascot sheep, Iown

We also have to stop at Tea by the Sea which also has an antique store attached so my hubby enjoys himself, too. People, that’s three walls of tea in that store, not to mention tea pots and cups and spoons and cozies and….. oooohhhhhh……

My idea of Heaven

My idea of Heaven

Here’s a typical shop:

I love the symmetry

I love the symmetry

Every evening we walk down to the dock so we can see the sunset…

Pretty sailboat

Pretty sailboat

And feed the ducks…..

hey, kids!

hey, kids!

And watch them scrabble after the crumbs we toss. This year it was practically gang warfare!

smile pretty, now!

smile pretty, now!

We then walk across the road to the ocean and wish it good night.

just think, England's on the other side!

just think, England's on the other side!

We took a day trip to Barnegat Light:

Old Barney

Old Barney

Where there was an amazing amount of these beautiful creatures:

One of many

One of many

Then we walked past the lighthouse and along the rocks, which goes out along the tip of the island and has lots of tidepools and marine life at high tide.

along the jetty

along the jetty

One evening at sunset, this huge Marmaduke-type calmly walked down into the bay. Despite his owners saying every form of “No!” “Sit!” “Stay!” that dog knew what he wanted.

But I don't *want* to come out!

But I don't *want* to come out!

I wanna chase DUCKS!!!

I wanna chase DUCKS!!!

Saying goodbye, we stopped at The House of the Rising Bun for a quick visit:

There's a sheep on my guitar, ma'am

There's a sheep on my guitar, ma'am

And arrived home to realize that, in our absence, the cucumbers missed us so much that they turned to each other for comfort:

even the vegetable kingdom is into snuggling!

even the vegetable kingdom is into snuggling!

There is a sweater that is almost off the needles, and a second sock racing its way along the foot to the toe. After those, I’m not sure what I’m going to start, since school meetings begin next week and I don’t know how distracted I’ll be. Maybe a scarf. Maybe more socks. Maybe a hat. Yeah, maybe a hat.

